Competency Framework

What makes an International Accountant?

AIA Competency Framework

The AIA Competency Framework is designed to give an overview to prospective candidates seeking to understand the key skills and competencies they will gain on completion of the AIA Professional Qualification.

The AIA Exam Scheme & Reading Lists (Syllabus) sets out the learning objectives and key skills present in the examinations, achieveable by students undertaking the AIA Professional Qualification. 

In addition, AIA Initial Professional Development (IPD) is designed to provide aspiring professional accountants with the core competencies required to act in the public interest.


The AIA Professional Qualification enables holders to undertake a wide variety of roles in Professional Practice and wider industry. Competencies gained throughout the examination process and Initial Professional Development (IPD) stage provide a foundation on which Members build through Continuing Professional Development (CPD).

Competencies and skills build on progression through the AIA Professional Qualification and include: 

Students are supported during the examination and study process by AIA Achieve, an interactive study course guiding learning in preparation for the exams and giving access to feedback, advice and support from a specialist team of e-tutors.

"AIA Achieve is the number one study option, especially if you are working or have other commitments. The e-tutors are fantastic and the support from AIA staff is exceptional. You study when it suits you...the e-books and study text materials are superb."

 Esther Alum, AIA Student










Additional in-depth look at competencies, skills and learning outcomes linked to the AIA Professional Qualification can be accessed here.


Back to top of page